The Paushuize, Publishing, and Me

My article in Dutch the MagazineDespite my excitement in yesterday’s post about my photo and name appearing in the new book about the Domtoren, I do actually have a background in publishing. In the US, I had my first article — a software game review — published in Compute magazine while I was still in high school. (Although there was a bit of nepotism there, as my dad was one of the editors. But still, it passed muster!) In fact, I ended up following in my dad’s professional footsteps after university and worked for a group of magazines, working my way up from assistant editor to editor-in-chief. So I’ve seen my name in print plenty of times and I’ve even had the cover feature on occasion.

Even with the experience, though, there’s still a thrill to seeing your work published. I regularly write for websites (although my name isn’t always attached), but there’s an extra thrill I get from seeing my name in print on paper. I remember when I first moved to New York and saw one of my articles in a magazine for sale at the Barnes & Noble at Union Square. It gave me a real sense of satisfaction.

However, it’s been a while since my name has appeared in physical print next to my writing, so when I recently received my issue of Dutch: The Magazine with my article about the Paushuize and the Netherlands’ only pope, I got to relive that frisson of excitement. I’ve had some of my photos appear in print over the past few years, including one in the previous issue of Dutch, but this is my first full article in a while.My article in Dutch the Magazine

The magazine is published in North America, so if you’re interested in seeing it for yourself, you can try some of your area book stores, etc. I’m not sure how widespread the publication is, but it is growing, so you never know. It’s definitely worth looking for, especially since Invader Stu has a new monthly column in the magazine, as well. If you can’t pick up a copy, I really do suggest you plan a visit to Utrecht so you can take one of the guided tours of the Paushuize. There was so much great information about the palace, the pope, and the city that I didn’t have room to include!My article in Dutch the Magazine

5 thoughts on “The Paushuize, Publishing, and Me

Leave a Reply

