Caturday: The Dog Edition

bullThe Zelfgemaakte Markt was back at Mariaplaats today and I was hoping to pick up another print by Studio Ellessi, so I found myself walking down Zadelstraat. That means two things: Domtorentje chocolates from Theo Blom and the bulldog(s) of De Koperen Bel.

As I approached the shop, I was worried, because I didn’t see any dogs in the usual chairs. But then, lo and behold, there were two squat legs and a white tush staring up at me (yes, it turned out I approached him from behind). When I got to the front end, I knew I’d have to take a quick picture. Sadly, I should have used my proper camera instead of the phone to get a few closer shots. His tongue was sticking out on the left, adding to the whole look of wanton abandon. Fortunately, Nico Arkesteijn, a fantastic photographer here in town got another shot of the dog in the same position, just from a different angle. Go check out the photo and then check out more of Nico’s photos and/or follow him on Twitter. He gets some really wonderful photos of Utrecht.

The title of this post was a bit tongue-in-cheek, but before ceiling cat comes down and smites me, I should probably throw in at least one cat photo, just to be on the safe side. I only saw one cat while I was out today and he zoomed past me before I could even think of taking a photo, so I’ll leave you with a photo of Lola sunning herself in the front window, distracted for a moment by the satellite basket she sees and sniffs daily.
DSC06639

4 thoughts on “Caturday: The Dog Edition

  1. That dog is definitely the picture of wanton abandonment … Love love love his wrinkly little face.
    Lola is quite the looker herself πŸ˜€ I bet she attracts a lot of attention in that window hah πŸ™‚

    • I’m not sure I’ve ever seen these bulldogs in motion. They’re always in some sort of relaxed state. I love them!

      And yes, Lola and Luna both get their fair share of attention when they set themselves up on display in the front window. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

