Don’t Touch Me Tomatoes

DSC06743I’m not a picky eater, but there are two things that I’ve never liked: milk and tomatoes. Oddly, I’m ok with milk in cereal, but drinking it straight puts me off. As for tomatoes, I was fine with them in sauces, etc., but not raw. Recently, though, I’ve become a fan of raw cherry tomatoes, particularly with a drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkling of salt. I’ve become such a fan that they’ve become part of my daily lunch.

Thus, my reaction was more positive as we were walking down Vinkenburgstraat today, when G noticed a new shop called Tazed Tomatoes, which seems to be devoted to tomatoes. They had staff standing outside, along with a selection of various small tomatoes, but I’m still hesitant with unknown tomatoes, so I didn’t try any. Still, it’s tempting and I will likely stop in the next time I’m over by Neude, though it looks like it may be a popup open only until 15 June.

DSC06744

7 thoughts on “Don’t Touch Me Tomatoes

    • Giovanni always tells me that I would like Italian tomatoes, but I’m pretty happy with these cherry tomatoes so far. And yes, I do drink milk in my coffee, but only a small amount, but that’s just personal preference. Oddly enough, I did drink chocolate milk as a child, but then I guess the key word there is chocolate. 🙂

  1. Saw this too. But at first glance I thought it said “Tazered Tomatoes”. Was so busy laughing (at myself), I didn’t bother to stop and try the toms. Maybe I’ll try them next time (all the time wondering if their good taste is due to being Tazered.)

    • Ha! Honestly, I had the same thought when I first saw the sign! In fact, I was so stuck on the tazered bit that it took Giovanni mentioning the tomatoes before I could even process what the shop was about!

    • I’ve always been a bit iffy on tomato soup, but everything else? No problem! I’m still a bit questionable about larger tomatoes, but the cherry tomatoes are now eaten daily. 🙂 I remember reading when I was young that tastebuds change every seven years. I’m in one of those seven-year multiples now, so perhaps that’s what has happened! 🙂

Leave a Reply

