Zelfgemaakte Markt Returns to Utrecht

DSC06666One of my favorite markets is back in town this Saturday and I highly recommend you check it out if you’re in Utrecht. The Zelfgemaakte Markt (handmade market) usually splits its time between Utrecht and Den Bosch, but will be popping up at Mariaplaats a few times this summer, although this is the last opportunity before August.

The market has some truly beautiful, stylish items and usually at surprisingly affordable prices. I saw some pieces by Toepas at the last market that I’m particularly interested in for the wine bar, so I’m hoping they return.

The last two times I’ve gone, I’ve ended up buying prints from Studio Ellessi. I bought a print of the Domtoren at the Christmas Zelfgemaakte Markt last year. It was love at first sight. I’d also fallen for her print of the Orloff café (located at Donkere Gard), but didn’t have enough money on me at the time to get it too. So when the market returned last month, I was hoping she’d be back and have the print. I was in luck! DSC06663I still need to get a frame for it (and for some of my photos I’ve had printed), but I have a spot all picked out for the Orloff print. She also does drawings of interiors and I’m hoping to be able to get one done of Vino Veritas at some point in the future. orloffSo, if you’re looking for things to do in Utrecht this Saturday, go to the Zelfgemaakte Markt. It’s a fantastic display of some truly talented people and its in a beautiful setting. Utrecht at it’s finest! And then come to Bilstraat and visit us at Vino Veritas and tell me what you bought. 😉

6 thoughts on “Zelfgemaakte Markt Returns to Utrecht

    • Thank you! I’ve been truly impressed by the quality of the work on display each time and love the whole atmosphere. I wish you all continued success! (Thanks for letting me know about Flattr. Not sure what was wrong, but it should be working now.)

  1. This looks like a great market! I have a friend who would absolutely love this I think, but sadly she’s in Canada. I hope I can catch it one day and maybe get her a little souvenir!

Leave a Reply

