Happy Fourth, America

Stars and Stripes
Between working two jobs and preparing for the Wittevrouwenfeest tomorrow, American Independence Day has gotten a bit lost in the mix. Yet being able to celebrate multiple holidays and important events is one of the perks of being an expat/immigrant. Although we won’t be doing the traditional barbecuing this year, I have made some potato salad (a traditional July 4th side dish) for lunch today. It’s the little things in life. 🙂

One of the things that stood out to me on my trip back to the US last year was the number of American flags I saw everywhere — homes, businesses, churches, etc. This is nothing new, but after spending a number of years here in the Netherlands where the flag is only flown on specific dates, it really stood out. Just a short walk through my parents’ neighborhood revealed a number of flags, and this motor inn up in the mountains of North Carolina certainly wasn’t going to have anyone questioning its patriotism!
Stars and Stripes
So, Happy Fourth of July to my fellow Americans and happy Friday to everyone else! By the way, if you’re in Utrecht this weekend, Biltstraat and the Wittevrouwen neighborhood are having a big block party. We’ll be representing Vino Veritas there, so come by and say hi, and try some of our Italian wine and food. Or come by today and enjoy the sunshine on our terrace (or cool off inside). Either way, I’ve really enjoyed meeting so many of my readers so far!
Stars and Stripes
Stars and Stripes
Stars and StripesStars and StripesPatriotism and ConsumerismPatriotic

4 thoughts on “Happy Fourth, America

  1. The block party sounds so fun!! Wish I could make it, alas I’ve got lots of work to catch up on this weekend. Still need to try your cheese plate … I’m coming!!!!
    Happy 4th of July!

    • The stressful thing is that I’ve still got a lot of writing work to do and fast running out of time and energy! Tomorrow is going to be a very long day, but hopefully a lot of fun.

  2. Happy 4th to you Alison! Love your flag shots. I don’t “see” the flags anymore, they are simply part of the landscape for me now until a visitor invariably makes a comment. Enjoy your potato salad!

Leave a Reply

