Vino Veritas – Utrecht

I was thrilled when I realized that it was Ghoti Industries and Himself who arrived outside Vino Veritas as we were getting a slightly late start opening on Saturday. They were soon followed by a few other groups, which kept me busy for a while, but eventually we got a chance to talk a bit more and have a good laugh at the variety of bad parking that regularly takes place outside.

They were a charming and fascinating couple who I wish lived much closer. Still, it was a bit serendipitous that they showed up when they did, as it was thanks to her blog that I actually knew the answer to an Eggheads or University Challenge question the previous week regarding irregularities in English spelling. Go read her lovely post about her visit to us at Vino Veritas and then read more of her blog to find out how to pronounce “ghoti”.

And if you’re in Utrecht, come visit Vino Veritas today and help G and I celebrate 13 years together. If we have to be working, at least help make the experience feel more like a party!

ghoti industries

“In vino veritas is a Latin phrase that translates “in wine [there is the] truth”. ” Source.

It’s not often in this crazy world where you get to meet your blogging friends. But when someone whose blog you follow, opens up an Italian Wine Bar, that seems to me like the perfect excuse to go on an excursion to Utrecht!

 photo IMG_2197_zps88c01d00.jpg

I began following The Flamingo in Utrecht when I got to the Netherlands and was looking for other expat experiences of living in the Netherlands. So of course when she and her partner opened an Italian wine bar I knew I would have to go and visit and meet her! Then when Himself suggested a day trip to Utrecht, I knew that the stars had aligned, and I knew exactly where we should be going!

 photo IMG_2218_zps8200bf3c.jpg

Oh boy was it worth it! The selection at Vino Veritas is impeccable, and while…

View original post 338 more words

2 thoughts on “Vino Veritas – Utrecht

  1. Congratulations on thirteen years, and on this wonderful start for Vino Veritas! Must get back there for the cheese plate soon!! (I write as I sit in Pearson airport, IE the saddest airport ever, with no cheese in sight …)

Leave a Reply

