Wordless Wednesday: Fairytale Setting

Achter de Dom

16 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: Fairytale Setting

  1. Ever since I saw the little tower, I’ve wanted to see the inside of it… Never got the chance so far…. But that is a really pretty corner of utrecht indeed. and hidden away as well

    • I love how picturesque this small street is, from every angle. Some of my favourite photos have been taken on this street. I’d love to see the view from the tower, too. 🙂

      • When I first really found it (when I started studying at uni in Utrecht. I am originally from tiny Nieuwersluis (2km further along the Vecht from Breukelen) so I went to Utrecht a LOT….. I never went to that corner until I had lectures at the Kromme Nieuwegracht… I still liove walking there and taking a book and a sandwhich to Dom garden next to it…. I think it’s probably the most medieval little corner of Utrecht, and I just love that atmosphere

        • So much of that area has changed little in the past hundreds of years, which is amazing. The pandhof is one of my favourite spots in town. It’s where I go to relax and recharge my emotional batteries. I went Sunday, and even with all of the tourists there, there’s still something peaceful and relaxing about it. Perhaps because there’s so much to look at when you look up — and can’t see all the other people.

          • That last part for me… I did quite a bit of studying (and also quite a bit of pleasure reading) there when the weather was good, Just find a spot between the pillars, and it will always seem quiet and relaxing, even when there are a lot of people around… That and the sheer atmosphere of the place… It’s what I imagine it’d be like in the old UK universities to be. I’m not a religious person, but one thing is for sure, the monastic part of the catholic church has been very good at creating contemplative environments.

            • I’m the same. I’m an atheist with a love of ecclesiastic architecture, for both the grandness and the contemplative aspect. For me personally, rather than glorifying any god, they show just how creative and thoughtful and expressive human beings can be in their own right. At least, those are the deep thoughts I have while sitting in settings like those. 🙂

              • I couldn’t agree more
                I prefer romanesque church architecture, and the more frugal gothic traditions (if you know what I mean, Spanish Gothic architecture gives me a headache, with every decoration decorated, and those decorations decorated too… Portuguese Gothic is very different and a lot ‘quiter) And I tend to favour monastic buildings to actual churches. Probably tastes in flavour, but I am also an atheist who likes ecclesiatic architecture

  2. I am going to Utrecht at the end of October! I have been following your blog for a while, so it will be cool “to see what you see.” Lovely picture.

    • Wonderful! I truly hope you enjoy your trip. Utrecht really is a beautiful city and there are lots of little spots like these to capture the imagination. Let me know if you have any questions about the city!

      • I definitely will! My friend moved to the Netherlands not too long ago, so I will be visiting her during fall break. It is a tiny town near ‘s-hertogenbosch, so I plan on doing day trips around the country.

          • Den Bosch (officially it’s called ‘s hertogenbosch, which comes from Des Hertogens Bosch, which is older dutch for The Duke’s wood. is generally called Den Bosch, even in lecture and literature. Well Den Bosch is a nice city to start off with too.

Leave a Reply

