Tour De France 2015 Route Presentation

Today is the grand announcement of the route of the 102nd Tour De France taking place next summer. It’s relevant to Utrecht, because Utrecht is where the race begins next year! We’ve known that for a while, but the official release of the full route was just announced moments ago. I watched part of the presentation on the Cyclingnews.com website, but had to laugh/cringe at the English pronunciation of all of the Utrecht sites (Jaarbeurs, Lepelenburg), but the worst was the name of the city itself. I don’t know who was responsible for the English commentary/translation I was watching, but dear lord, I hope they get that figured out soon. You should at least be able to pronounce the name of the city!

The race kicks off on 4 July, a Saturday, and part of it even goes down Biltstraat, where Vino Veritas is, though I think they turn off before they get to us. There will also be events in town in the days leading up to the start.

For a few months now, a statue of a bicycle representing the Tour de France has been in place on the Stadhuisbrug. I’ve taken ground-level photos in the past, but last month while up on the Neudeflat, I got a few more aerial views of the statue. Someday I may get over the Jaarbeursplein to see the big ground design they in place there. I guess I have until next July. For now, enjoy these shots of the statue on the bridge over the Oudegracht. You’ll notice that the Domtoren, in the background of one, was much too tall to be fully included. Also pay attention to the boat going through the canal in the shots, particularly the shot where you can see the man essentially pushing the boat away from the canal walls to get it through a rather tight bend.
Tour de France Utrecht 2015
Tour de France Utrecht 2015Tour de France Utrecht 2015

8 thoughts on “Tour De France 2015 Route Presentation

  1. Wow, the Domtoren really does look HUGE in that second last shot. I’m not a big sports fan but I do find it exciting that Utrecht will be hosting such a big event! I’m also curious to hear this terrible pronunciation … hehe

  2. Beautiful Photo’s as always (seriously)

    I am a bit more sympathetic to the english speakers and how they pronounce Utrecht. There are more difficult cities to pronounce (scheveningen for one), but the dutch pronunciation of Utrecht is so counterintuitive to english pronunciation in general. Hell, I know I pretty much always say Youtrekt when pronouncing utrecht when speaking english. And that is involuntary too, I mean it just happens. I need to concentrate to pronounce it in dutch when speaking english. I can imagine it’s even worse for someone with english as their first language.

Leave a Reply

