Caturday: Ginger Edition

Flora's Hof Kitty
Lurking in the shadows — or on a wall, or under a bench, or beneath a grate, or out a window — at Flora’s Hof and the connecting bookstore, you’re bound to come across a fearless ginger cat. I’ve seen this cat grow from kitten to adult, and it’s always doing something crazy or cute. In other words, a classic cat.

A few weeks ago, while taking the Utrecht Free Tour with visiting friends, everyone got to see this charming cat for themselves. Many photos were taken, especially by my fellow cat lovers, as on that day, the orange tabby was relaxing in the shade of the palm tree in the center of the garden. Yes, a palm tree! No wonder it’s one of my favorite spots in town!
Flora's Hof KittySo the next time you’re in the little garden area off Servetstraat, next to the Domtoren, keep an eye out for this crazy kitty. She’ll typically pose for photos, but be fast, as she may suddenly change her mind and race off to parts unknown, through her own secret system of tunnels and bolt holes. But beware if she’s hanging out in one of the gratings along the garden path. She’s been known to swipe at hands reaching down irresistibly to pet her. Ouch!
Flora's Hof Kitty

5 thoughts on “Caturday: Ginger Edition

  1. Hi! I brought my ginger to the Netherlands and start a new life here also! May I ask that shall I register my cat in the city hall or municipality?

    • Hi! I don’t think cats have to be registered, but I don’t know that we thought that much about it. You can always check your municipality’s website. They’ll probably have information. I hope you all settle in well!

Leave a Reply

