Utrecht on Easter

Paasdag
Utrecht is looking mighty fine today. The weather is glorious, though still with a bit of chill. But as you can see, the sun was shining in full force and the sky was a glorious shade of blue with the occasional fluffy white cloud.

We took a walk along the canal that rings the old city center on the eastern side, planning to drop off some recycling, see my dear friend the Spoetnikkijker, and then head to the Domplein to check out the Streekmarkt, in hope that there would be some fresh asparagus on offer.
Paasdag
The walk along the canal was perfect, with daffodils sprouting everywhere and the water reflecting the sunlight like a mirror. Although the trees are still bare, greenery is popping up elsewhere, making everything look lush and welcoming.

It was a joy just getting out and enjoying the city and the scenery, camera in hand. It’s been too long since I’ve had a chance to walk around on a nice day, without work obligations hanging over me. I think I took something like 200 photos, so there should be plenty of new pics to post for the next few weeks! I even got a couple of shots so I can do some more Time Travel posts (and close a few more tabs in my browser). Oh, and lots of cat photos!
De Streekmart
Eventually we made it to the Domplein to visit the Streekmarkt. I think it’s the first time the market has been held in the Domplein. It’s been on Twijnstraat and Mariaplaats in recent years. It’s a nice market, typically focusing on organic food and other items all made in small batches. Sometimes there’s fresh produce, so I was hoping to find some asparagus for tonight’s dinner, but sadly I didn’t see any. There were a number of food trucks of one sort or another, including an Argentinian grill truck and a tosti truck. The aromas in the square were mouth watering and everything looked delicious.

Since we were in the area, I decided to stop by the VVV (tourist office) that’s there in the square. I knew they had begun carrying some 3D-printed Domtoren necklaces and earrings and I was interested in getting a necklace. I’ve had a VVV giftcard in my bag for more than a year and figured now would be a good time to use it. In the end, I got the necklace, a Tour de France-inspired Domtoren T-shirt (don’t forget, the race starts here in Utrecht, 4 July), a Domtoren print, and a mug that matches one of my favorite Utrecht prints. All in all, a very nice day!
Domtoren

2 thoughts on “Utrecht on Easter

Leave a Reply

