Do You Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans?

New Orleans This Sunday, come rain or shine — just like Mardi Gras — I’m gonna laissez les bon temps rouler! Utrecht is getting its very own Klein New Orleans (Little New Orleans) for one day. Breedstraat is going to be turned into the French Quarter with food, music, and more that brings to mind the Big Easy. I can’t wait! I went to Tulane University in New Orleans (pictured above) and fell in love with the city. Sure, there’s a lot of corruption and crime, though that’s sadly nothing new. But there’s also so much passion and beauty and fun and a certain joy that’s maybe that little bit more intense because of the darkness that lurks, be it crime or Mother Nature. Certainly, when it comes to music and food, the city is exceptional. I’m not gonna lie, I’m a little worried about how the food is going to be translated at the festival this Sunday. I’ve seen a jambalaya at a restaurant here in Utrecht that was nothing like any jambalaya I ever had in New Orleans. But hopefully I’ll be pleasantly surprised. New Orleans When I graduated, there was a crawfish boil for graduating seniors and their family. Crawfish, potatoes, corn on the cob. Suck the heads, squeeze the tails! I’m definitely looking forward to some crawfish this weekend! I wonder if they’ll have any Abita beer? Oh, and red beans and rice! And pralines! And beignets! Po’ boys! Gumbo! *sigh* Hmm. I just looked at the program and I’m not sure if they’re going to have any of that, except the gumbo. Oh dear. If they do this again next year, maybe I’ll sign up to make a big ol’ mess o’ red beans and rice, at least. New Orleans Well, I’m certainly looking forward to the music. If only they could have gotten Cowboy Mouth there. Seeing them live is like a religious experience. Though there is going to be a band there called the Neutral Ground Brass Band. The name alone makes me love them already. (Neutral Ground is the New Orleans word for a median, or that little strip of land in the middle of the street.) Reverend Shine Snake Oil Co. also sounds like it could be a good one. It also looks like they’re going to Second Line it over from Neude. Maybe I should decorate one of our umbrellas! In the meantime, I’m just going to look through some of my old photos from Tulane and reminisce. I can’t really share most of them without getting a lot of people to sign wavers. I am so glad we didn’t have camera phones back then. I do have a few photos I can share, starting with one of the classic streetcar; the house I lived in my last year, complete with porch (and yes I did stand down below and yell, “Stella!”); a postcard of some of the gorgeous wrought-iron balconies in the Quarter, and a silly picture of me after graduation. New Orleans New Orleans New Orleans New Orleans

8 thoughts on “Do You Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans?

  1. You know, it’s funny. Whenever I manage to get the time and money to take an actual trip to the US (which is definitely something I intend to do) New Orleans would be on the top of my list of cities to visit ( closely followed by New York, I admit). I’ve always been fascinated by New Orleans, ever since I learned of it. Part of it is the music ( I really do love Jazz, or at least quite a few styles of jazz) and the food (I’ve never had anything vaguely resembling actual new Orleans food, but pictures and descriptions, but descriptions of it always make my mouth water) , but mostly it’s because I’m a history geek, and the history of New orleans is definitely very fascinating city in that respect.

    These are a lot of words basically saying I’m jealous 😛

    • I would recommend New Orleans and New York to anyone! They’re both probably the easiest to get around without a car, too. But yes, both are full of interesting history. I took a Louisiana history class one year, which was certainly interesting. And the food is even better than all the pictures and descriptions. I definitely hope you get to visit some day!

  2. Yay…what a fun event….and YES! I TOTALLY know what it means to miss the big easy! Being from Houston, we used to go to New Orleans all the time. Sometimes make the six hour drive at 5pm, stay out all night, then drive home at 5AM – – – so safe right?!?!!? ha, ha, ha…those were fun times. Loved your photos!!!

    • So jealous of a six hour drive! Took me 13 hours from NC! But an all-night overnighter sounds pretty normal for New Orleans. 😉 Still amazed I graduated on time!

    • Ha! Very much from New Orleans! Pretty sure I saw them the first time at a show on campus in 1990. I also saw them in NC and NY, so I’d love to add NL to the list. 🙂

    • With the French Canadian connection to Louisiana, you should definitely come out on Sunday! Text me if you do and we can try to meet up if you want.

Leave a Reply

