Tour de Gracht

Oudegracht paddle boats also ready for the Tour de France
Although I haven’t listed it on my “things to do in Utrecht” posts, others have recommended renting one of the pedal boats on the Oudegracht. I’ve come close to doing it, but for various reasons, never have. Still, it does look like a fun way to see the city from canal level. I’ve done one of the boat tours and it really does give you a different perspective.

Of course, like everything else in the city at the moment, even the pedal boats have Tour de France fever. Some have gone a bit jaundiced, others seem to have a rash, and a few have gone a bit green around the gills.
Oudegracht paddle boats also ready for the Tour de France
Sorry, I do love the excitement and seeing the whole city getting involved, but it’s fun to take the mickey out of it all occasionally. Still, I’m no better, as I’m essentially devoting a week to blogging about the event and dedicated this month’s blog header to the Tour.

If you’d like to see the city by pedal boat/canal bike, you can find them by the Stadhuis, across from the Winkel van Sinkel. You can rent them for 1.5 hours and they cost €9.50 per person. Be aware that there’s a €20 deposit on the pedal boat.

Utrecht’s canal-side wharves add something extra to seeing the city by boat. Give a wave to some of the diners at the restaurants right there on the wharf, and you may see some artists and stonemasons at work, as well. There’s plenty of great scenery. There are other types of boats and kayaks to be rented, as well, so there are plenty of ways to explore Utrecht’s beautiful canals.

5 thoughts on “Tour de Gracht

  1. I’ve just finished drafting an article about things to do in Utrecht during the TDF and I WISH I had gotten as great a snap of the pedal boats as you have! They are too cute!! I may not know much about cycling and I may never have watched a second of it on TV but I will miss all of this festive decoration when it’s gone 😛

    • I got lucky with the boats. I’d stopped by Winkel van Sinkel just to get the caryatids, but as I was approaching, I saw the pedal boats. Snap! After the years of promo to get the event and then to actually host it, it’s going to be weird when it’s all over!

Leave a Reply

