Sint Willibrord

willibrord first bishop of utrecht statue at janskerkhofThis statue of St. Willibrord stands at Janskerkhof. Willibrord was a missionary from Northumbria who came to the Netherlands in the late 600s to convert the pagan North Germanic tribes of Frisia. He also took a few trips to Rome to meet with the pope and in 695, he was consecrated as the bishop of the Frisians. He returned to Frisia and kept preaching and building churches, including a monastery here in Utrecht. He also became known as the first Bishop of Utrecht.

Meh. Kind of boring post, I know. But my other work is keeping me busy, as is Charlie, and today’s weather is lousy and uninspiring. The colors also looked nicer before I uploaded the photo to WordPress. Grumble, grumble, grumble.

8 thoughts on “Sint Willibrord

    • I didn’t include as much detail as I usually prefer to, so I was afraid it was a bit dull. Or maybe better for the brevity! The Frisians are fascinating and I’d love to learn more about their history.

  1. We just returned from the Netherlands a week ago and I’m missing it terribly. I’m missing the autumn light of Holland. It’s autumn in North Carolina, too, but it isn’t the same!

    I walked by your “other job” when I was in Utrecht, but unfortunately it was a Monday and we didn’t have a chance to make it back to the city. Second year in a row that we visited Utrecht on a MONDAY. ARRGH. Maybe next time I’ll remember to come on a Tuesday, instead!!

    • Definitely come on a day other than Monday, since everything is closed then and you don’t get a chance to enjoy all that the city has to offer, and I don’t mean just us. 😉 I know NC had some bad rain recently, but we’re back to the typical dark and dreary October weather, so you’re not missing much right now.

  2. Not at all boring! This was in the 7th century, the mind boggles when considering the logistics and sheer nerve to have embarked on those adventures. Travel – from Northumbria to a wild and woolly tribe in those damp Lowlands, then back and forth a few times to Rome…sounds so simple in today’s terms but back then? Thank you for posting, I’m glad you are back, missed you. Have a great, typically Dutch, day.

  3. I didn’t find that at all boring. History is fascinating! You too, should appreciate the Christian basis of the society you live in!

Leave a Reply

