Oma Nijn

Oma Nijn
I never finished posting some of the Nijntje statues that were dotted around the city last summer as part of the celebration of Nijntje’s (Miffy’s) 60th birthday. Seeing as today is Easter, I thought today might be a good day to post one of the image-heavy Nijntjes. This one is Oma Nijn (Grandma Rabbit) by artist Charlotte Dematons. Her version has Nijntje in a cozy cardigan featuring typical scenes of Dutch culture with Nijntje scattered throughout. I like the one where she and her friends are cycling through the tulip fields in both sunshine and rain. A bit like today! Which is your favorite?
Oma Nijn
Oma Nijn
Oma Nijn
Oma Nijn
Oma Nijn
Oma Nijn
Oma Nijn
Oma Nijn
Oma Nijn
Oma Nijn
Oma Nijn
Oma Nijn
Oma Nijn

9 thoughts on “Oma Nijn

  1. I love it! Though I learned to read as a 3yr old in the States, I went to kindergarten in Utrecht. We read Nijntje books. Though I have sons, our first baby room was decorated in Nijntje things and now it’s the hallway leading to our preschoolers’ rooms. The art and toys were bought at the Nijntje museum in Utrecht and in the same bookstore where I bought my books as a kindergartener. Our boys weren’t adopted yet, and we didn’t know the genders.

    I’m fascinated by Oma Nijn’s button. My parents were caught up in an antique button fad one year when they went home to Utrecht. They came back with button jewlery for me and my sisters-in-law. I have a necklace with a button charm that’s nearly identical to Oma Nijn’s!

  2. The work on it is amazing. It reminds me a little to the elephants in Amsterdam a few years ago. I remember it being a lot of fun trying to find them all. I wish I’d know about the Nintje ones at the time. My daughter would have loved it.

    • There was a Nijntje parade of statues in Amsterdam, as well. I would have loved to have seen the olifanten. I did see the painted cows that took over NYC while I was living there. I love things like this. It’s always good to add some more art to a city!

Leave a Reply

