Gourmetten


As I mentioned on Friday, we went that evening to our friends in Oudewater to finally experience the Dutch tradition of gourmetten. This indoor electric grill is such a fun way to cook a lot of types of food and great for entertaining, since you all sit together and cook your own food. M and R set up a fantastic spread for us that night, as you can see. If you click on the picture, it should take you to the Flickr page, where you´ll be able to see the notes listing each food item. To give you the short version, we had a selection of beef, pork and chicken, some plain and some marinated, along with mini burgers, mini slavink, and a lovely variety of vegetables, and some beaten egg to make our own omlettes in the little triangular trays you see there. On top of it all, we had a huge bowl of bread and a variety of sauces. It really was both tasty and fun. I can´t wait to get my own gourmetten now!

This was the table after we´d eaten. A few bits and pieces left, but not too much. I didn´t get any cooking shots, because to be honest, I was too busy eating and enjoying myself and the camera was out of reach.

While we were there, we also got to meet their new kitten, Miles! She´s so soft and adorable, although still a bit skittish. However, she was also a bit curious, eventually.


And finally, it wouldn´t be right to leave out their other cat, Bob. Such a sweetie!

6 thoughts on “Gourmetten

  1. Looks delicious. I’ve seen these kits around and had wondered if people commonly used them.

    I grew up with a love for interactive meals like this; I blame my parents for feeding us fondue constantly. Japanese Shabu-Shabu is tasty too.

Leave a comment