Subtle Signs of Integration

Frietsaus of wietsaus?
Deciding to enjoy the nice weather — which turned out to be much warmer than yesterday! — we headed out to take a few photos and then get our hands on the “gratis frites” from Manneken Pis. Since we were over by the Stadhuis, we went to the shop on Steenweg. There was a steady, but fast-moving line of people getting their friet with the choice of wietsaus (weed sauce) or mayo/frietsaus. I asked for wietsaus, but I think we both got frietsaus, which tastes a lot like tartar sauce, to be honest.

Gratis

The friet were tasty, as always, but also really hot! To give them a bit of time to cool off, we headed over to Flora’s Hof to have a seat and enjoy the friet and scenery. I hadn’t eaten many before I started to feel full, despite not having had anything to eat before heading out. The free size was the smallest size they offered, which is even called the kinder (child) size. The Dutch need to stop making fun of American portions if that’s their child size! G and I both figured we could have split one easily! I guess I really am getting used to smaller portions. Look! It’s a handfull!

Kinder Size

On the way home, we happened to see a couple walking next to their bikes, which were the normal bikes, nothing sporty. The odd thing was that the woman was wearing a helmet. The only time I see an adult wearing a bicycle helmet these days is if they’re doing the full-on sport cycling. My first thought was that she must be a tourist/foreigner.

Between finding the smallest portion of food to be too large and then seeing an adult wearing a helmet and thinking “they’re not from ’round here”, I had to laugh at how I’ve definitely experienced a shift in thinking since moving here. It’s all a matter of perspective.

9 thoughts on “Subtle Signs of Integration

  1. That portion does indeed look… rather big, for a child especially!
    I always feel I’ve an indeestible lump inside whenever I eat them – so have given them up.
    And that definately was not weis sauce!

  2. Wow that is a big size! That is a rather generous portion! The smallest size I know of only has room for a couple of big fries, just enough if you want a snack.

    • Heh. As much as I think people should travel and see more of the world, having lived in tourist meccas like Orlando and NYC, I do tend to get annoyed by some of the less positive aspects of tourists. 😉 I had words with a particularly rude tourist in NYC.

Leave a comment