Eggnog and Spirits

Homemade Eggnog
After thinking about it all week, I finally put up our Christmas tree today. Part of the delay came about because I couldn’t decide which eggnog recipe to try. I don’t think I’ve made homemade eggnog since I was little and tried the recipe for it that was in my Betty Crocker cookbook for children. Normally, the only time I drink it is while I’m actually decorating the tree, so in the past, I’ve simply bought a carton from the store.

Sadly, though, I’ve been without eggnog these past two Christmases in the Netherlands, as it doesn’t seem to be sold here. The Dutch have a drink/liqueur called advocaat, but I don’t think it’s the same. Can anyone who has had both eggnog and advocaat tell me the difference in taste (other than advocaat having the alcohol already added in)? Since it didn’t look like I was going to get any eggnog help from the grocery store, I figured this season I would finally make my own eggnog to help get me into the holiday spirit — with the addition of some spirits, of course. I searched foodgawker, looking at all the different variations of the recipe, going back and forth on which one to try. I eventually settled on a combination of a couple of recipes that seemed simple and that didn’t have quite as much sugar as the others. One of the reasons I rarely drank much eggnog in the US was because it was so sweet.

In the end, I was quite please with how the eggnog turned out. The addition of some dark rum made the aroma complete, taking me back to past holiday memories. With eggnog in hand, and Christmas music on the stereo, the tree went up fairly easily. I even got to dance with Lola to Elvis’ Blue Christmas, a tradition that I love to do, but I’m not sure she’s as thrilled with it. Especially when I pulled her off the heater today in order to dance. She had a death-grip on the heater, but I won in the end. I’m sure she’ll look back on it all with a laugh some day.
Merry Freakin' Christmas

Eggnog Recipe
serves 2 decent-size glasses or 4 small glasses

2 eggs
1/4 cup sugar
1.5 cups milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp grated nutmeg or to taste
rum or bourbon to taste

Whisk together eggs and sugar in a sauce pan and then slowly add in the milk and then the nutmeg. Turn the heat on low and continue to stir until the mixture thickens just enough to coat the back of a spoon. When it’s the right consistency, take it off the heat and stir in the vanilla, then refrigerate. You could add in the alcohol before you refrigerate it, or simply add it to the glasses when you’re ready to serve it up. It will take a bit of stirring to combine the alcohol and eggnog, so leave room in the glass. I like to top the glasses off with another light sprinkle of nutmeg.

7 thoughts on “Eggnog and Spirits

  1. Glad you found a good one! I’ll have to give it a shot. I’m hoping we get to put the tree up this weekend. Given the Dutch husband, I had to wait until after Sinterklaas. I’ve tried advocaat and I really liked it. It doesn’t taste much like egg nog though. It’s very alcohol-y and has a more vla-like texture. But I thought it was really good. What I’m not a fan of is the spiked egg nog we had in Dusseldorf. It was hot and bitter – tasted like they mixed scotch with a few eggs and warmed it up. But there’s nothing like the cartoned American version, is there?

    • Thanks for the advocaat feedback. From the advocaat-filled mini chocolate eggs I’ve tried at Easter, I didn’t think it really would taste the same, but was curious if it tasted different in its proper form. Sorry to hear about the Dusseldorf disaster; such a shame to have an eggnog experience go so badly!

    • Well, that makes sense! I forgot to even look there! Thanks for passing along the info! For what it’s worth, you can get American baking soda for half the price of Jac Bostelaar at the Centraal Toko over by Xenos/Hoog Catharijn.

  2. Pingback: A Flamingo in Utrecht

  3. Man oh man, I love eggnog. Dad makes it every year, following the ol’family recipe which requires enough bourbon to smash an elephant. Also some eggs and stuff, but they are entirely secondary to The Drunkening. There’s nothing quite like it to make the liver quiver.

    Advocaat is pretty popular here in the UK, too, though personally, its charms elude me a little. I’ll happily eat/drink/huff all manner of terrible synthetic things, but there’s something about Advocaat that just seems slightly TOO plastic. I think it’s probably one of those things you have to grow up with to fully appreciate. Or maybe just drink more of it?

    • It really is all about the alcohol. I mean, why drink it otherwise? I find that copious amounts make wrestling with the tree and lights much more bearable. And this year, Charlie gets to be my Christmas lights model!

      I still haven’t tried advocaat, though. I’m not enough of a liqueur drinker to bother.

      Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

